Diocesan CYO hoops stars finish off March Madness

cyo basketball

FALL RIVER, Mass. — The Fall River Diocese’s CYO recently held its annual All-Star Basketball Tournaments.

The Junior A Girls played at the McCarrick-Sullivan CYO Center in Fall River with Fall River taking on New Bedford.  

The hometown jumped out to an early 10-0 lead and lead by 11 at halftime. New Bedford made a run in the second half but Fall River answered and kept control of the game.

Mackenzie Carreiro led Fall River with 16 points, A.J. Coleman had nine and Sadie Fitzgerald had four.  

New Bedford scoring was led by  Kelly Medeiros with eight points.

The All Tournament Team included, from Fall River: MacKenzie Carreiro, MVP; A.J.Coleman; Avery Rounds; and Dakota Azevedo. 

Representatives from New Bedford were Kelly Medeiros and Brianna Machado.

The Boys Prep Tournament was also held at the McCarrick-Sullivan CYO Center.with Fall River taking on Taunton.   

Fall River took an early lead but Taunton came back to lead at the half, 32-24.  

The lead changed hands in the last two minutes of the game but, with two minutes left in the game Taunton hit two three-pointers to pull out the victory 72-64.

Taunton’s Kenny Knute led all scorers with 31 points and Cory Pintabone and Sean Qunlan each had 10 points.  

For Fall River, Anthony Lopes had 25, Noah Soutowith 19 and Tre Fletcher had seven.

The All Tournament Team representatives from Taunton were: Kenny Knute, MVP; Cory Pintabone; and Sean Quinlan.

From  Fall River Anthony Lopes, Noah Soutowith and Tre Fletcher made the team.

The Junior Boys Tournament took place in Taunton.

In the first game, New Bedford and Fall River squared off.  

New Bedford pulled away with a 53-43 victory.  Shane Poitras led all scorers with 27 for New Bedford and teammate Myles Rosa had 10.  Jevon Holley led Fall River with 14 and Jackson Lewis chipped in with 10.

New Bedford then played Taunton for the championship.  In a very close contest, New Bedford pulled away to a 42-38 win. Shane Poitras led all scorers again with 11 points aided by teammate John Paulino’s 10 points.  For Taunton, Dolan Campbell had nine and Will Rowan had eight.

The All Tournament Team included, from New Bedford: Shane Poitras, MVP; Luis Cortijo; and John Paulino.

Players from Taunton making the squad were: Will Rowan and Dolan Campbell.

Jevon Holley from Fall River also made the team.

© 2018 The Anchor and Anchor Publishing   †   Fall River, Massachusetts